Unsplash
Photo: Unsplash
Latest Google Privacy Tools Enhancing User Security: How to Stop Google From Tracking Your Movements
Based on the apps you use on your smartphone, Google keeps track of everywhere you go.
The data collected is used to give you more personalised experiences like maps and recommendations based on places you've visited, real-time traffic updates about your commute as well as help finding your phone and more targeted ads.
The idea of Google holding on to that data may make you feel uncomfortable even though these things can be useful.
Previously, if you chose to enable Location History, the only way to delete that data was to go into your app settings and remove it manually.
Now you can automatically delete your location history after a fixed period of time.
You can automatically delete your Location History after three months to 18 months and it beats leaving a trail of information that you might not want Google or others to see.
Here's how to automatically delete your Location History on Android and iOS:
- Open the Google Maps app
- In the top left, tap the Menu icon and select "Your timeline".
- In the top right, tap the More icon and select "Settings and privacy".
- Scroll to "Location settings".
- Tap "Automatically delete Location History".
- Follow the on-screen instructions.
- Open the Gmail app.
- In the top left, tap the Menu icon and select "Settings".
- Select your account and then tap "Manage your Google Account".
- At the top, tap Data & personalisation.
- Under "Activity controls" tap Web & App Activity"
- Tap "Manage activity".
- At the top right, tap the More icon and then select "Keep activity for".
- Tap the option for how long you want to keep your activity and then tap "Next".
- Confirm to save your choice.
Newsletter
Get updates straight to your inbox